CONMEBOL Qualifications

CONMEBOL Qualifications

CONMEBOL information

The CONMEBOL is the foodball federation of South-America. CONMEBOL stands for Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol. The CONMEBOL is on of FIFA’s 6 continental confederations, and was founded on the 9th of July 1916. Which means that the CONMEBOL is now over a 100 years old. This makes it the oldest confederation in the world, and their headquarters are situated in Lugue (in Paraguay).

The CONMEBOL is responsible for the organisation of the major football tournaments inside South-America. However, it might be the oldest conferederation, but has the least fifa member associations. Only 10 countries are participating in FIFA tournaments.


CONMEBOL World Cup Winners

9 FIFA World Cups have been won by national teams of the CONMEBOL. Brazil has won its first World Cup in hosting country Sweden in 1958, where they defeated the Swedish national team in the final. The Brazilians quickly followed with another win in 1962 in Chile, and followed with more World Cup Titles in 1970 in Mexico, 1994 in the United States of America, and the last one in 2002 hosted in Japan and South-Korea. However, Brazil was not the only succesfull CONMEBOL football team. Argentina had won the World Cup 2 times, in 1978 against The Netherlands in their own country, and in 1986 against former West-Germany.

The only other CONMEBOL Team to ever win the World Cup is Urugay, which won the World Cup in 1930 and 1950.

CONMEBOL World Cup 2018 Qualifiers

The CONMEBOL World Cup qualifiers are described as the world’s thoughest qualifiers. This is because of their simple round-robin system, which means that all teams will compete against all teams, which is a very difficult condition for the weaker national teams.

The top 4 teams will directly qualify for the World Cup 2018. The current CONMEBOL Qualifier scheme is displayed below.









World Cup 2018 News

Dick Advocaat new national coach of Holland

Dick Advocaat new coach of The Netherlands Dick Advocaat was appointed as the new coach of the Dutch National team. The Dutch Football Bond (KNVB) anounced that earlier in may. He is the one to fullfill the difficult job of leading Holland to the World Cup 2018 in...

Jorge Sampaoli new coach Argentina

Jorge Sampaoli new coach Argentina Sampaoli was assigned as the new coach of the Argentina National Team for the World Cup 2018 Russia. He is succeeding Edgardo Bauza, who didn't manage to get the right results for his team. Sampaoli leaves his role as coach of...

World Cup 2018 will have Video Referees

World Cup 2018 in Russia will have Video Referees This will be the first World Cup ever using video referees, as FIFA anounced to the BBC a few weeks earlier. Multiple countries have tested this form of controlling the games, and until now all tests went extremely...